2014 NASW Illinois Endorsements
New Legislative Scorecard!
2015 Legislative Agenda

See Who We Endorsed:

Take Action

Volunteer Today

Donate Now

The NASW Illinois Chapter is guided by the policy statements that appear in Social Work Speaks 2012–2015 in its advocacy efforts with special emphasis on subjects below.

The agenda will guide the chapter legislative and policy advocacy work during the coming year.

  • The NASW Illinois Chapter (NASW IL) will support the development of sufficient resources to support our state budget that will help support the delivery of vital human services to Illinois citizens in need, including efforts to ensure prompt payment to providers.
  • NASW IL will support and monitor Illinois’ implementation of the Affordable Care Act (ACA) and the role social workers can play in it.
  • NASW IL will work to expand and clarify rules and regulations surrounding telehealth services to expand access to underserved areas and populations.
  • NASW IL will work towards a comprehensive loan repayment program that addresses shortages for behavioral health areas and specific need populations.
  • NASW IL will work towards final passage of a statewide minimum wage increase.
  • NASW IL will work to strengthen the social work license by reviewing and suggesting for implementation requirements for supervision training.
  • NASW IL will continue working towards establishing the rules process for PA 95-518 (the social work Medicaid reimbursement law) which will enable mental health services to be more readily available on a community level; we will also work on how this will fit into the Medicaid reform laws adopted by the Illinois General Assembly in 2011 (PA 96-1501).
  • NASW IL will advocate for fair and equitable insurance reimbursement rates for licensed clinical social workers.
  • NASW IL will work to rescind language requiring social workers to notify the client’s physician if they are receiving services (PL 86-1434).
  • NASW IL will work to promote the hiring of social workers and advocate for the role of the social work profession in the human service sector in Illinois.
  • NASW IL will closely monitor and review (and support when deemed appropriate) initiatives to eliminate or reduce poverty in Illinois.
  • NASW IL will advocate for providing quality mental health services to reduce rates of recidivism, re-entry, and incarceration.
  • NASW IL will advocate for stricter laws aimed at the reduction of mental, sexual, and physical abuse of children, women, and elderly including expanded reporting requirements.


The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world, with over 150,000 members. The NASW Illinois Chapter is one of the association’s largest chapters with over 7,000 members in Illinois alone. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.


Chicago, IL— The National Association of Social Workers Illinois Chapter Political Action Committee (NASW IL PAC) Announce 2014 State Senate and House Endorsements. The following list was chosen based on voting record, questionnaire answers and personal interaction of the NASW IL PAC members and members of the NASW Illinois Chapter. Representing over 8,000 social work members and over 20,000 licensed social workers in Illinois the NASW IL PAC endorses:

Illinois Senate:

John J. Cullerton – 6th Senate

Daniel Biss – 9th Senate

Terry Link – 30th Senate

Don Harmon – 39th Senate

Andy Manar – 48th Senate

Illinois House:

Ken Dunkin – 5th Rep

Ann Williams – 11th Rep

Sara Feigenholtz 12th Rep

Greg Harris – 13th Rep

Kelly Cassidy – 14th Rep

Lou Lang – 16th Rep

Laura Fine – 17th Rep

Rob Martwick 19th Rep

Michael Zalewski – 23rd Rep

Christian Mitchell – 26th Rep

Thaddeus Jones – 29th Rep

Marcus Evans, Jr 33rd Rep

Elgie Sims – 34th Rep

Frances Ann Hurley – 35th Rep

Al Riley – 38th Rep

Will Guzzardi – 39th Rep

Deb Conroy – 46th Rep

Patti Bellock – 47th Rep

Elaine Nekritz – 57th Rep

Sam Yingling – 62nd Rep

Mike Smiddy – 71st Rep

Ron Sandack – 81st Rep

Lawrence Walsh, Jr – 86th Rep

Jehan Gordon-Booth – 92nd Rep

Carol Ammons – 103rd Rep

Jay Hoffman – 113th Rep


Previous Endorsements:


Governor – Pat Quinn

Lt. Governor: Paul Vallas

Attorney General – Lisa M. Madigan (D)

 Secretary of State – Jesse White (D)
 Treasurer – Sen. Mike Frerichs (D)
 Comptroller – Judy Baar Topinka (R)

Goal Thermometer

Make Your Voice Heard

2014 Election Guide

Recent Comments



    • No events

    Signup for Action Alert